Moz Review

4.5/5 12 reviews
Price: Starting at $99.00/month

All of our reviews are vetted and we enforce guidelines to ensure accuracy.

Average Ratings | 12 reviews

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.8/5
Features
4.4/5
Value for Money
4.3/5

Product Details

Backlink tools
On page analysis
Keyword analysis
Site audits
SERP rank tracking
Competitive analysis
Domain analytics
Price starting at $99/mo

Moz Competitors

About Moz

Moz's suite of tools is trusted by marketers at companies like Zillow, Trivago and Fortune 500 companies to monitor SEO performance. Moz provides tools that help you build additional backlinks to your site and allow you to understand what your existing links backs are. It has a powerful site audit tool that points out potential issues search crawlers may have with your site. It tracks your SERP rankings and the rankings of your competitors. It's a literal Swiss army knife for search marketers.

Relevant Posts

Hailey & Mark Recommended

Moz Reviews

Name: Celi
Title: Marketing
Company: Growth Marketing Partners
Industry: Marketing
Overall
4.8/5
November 10, 2019
Pros

It's been a while since I used Moz but when I did, I used their keyword research tool and rank tracking. They have a number of customers such as Zillow and Trivago. You can do a trial and then upgrade for as low as $79 per month.

Cons

For small businesses it may be too much to pay each month. Overall pretty good tool.

Value for the money

Good

Name: Krishna Apel
Title: Media Tech
Company: Echo Marketing And Advertising
Industry: Marketing Consulting
Overall
4.8/5
January 08, 2020
Pros

Moz offers some free tools including keyword explore and open site explorer. I really like Moz’s chrome extension called “Moz Bar” which gives information about domain rank/page authority for search engine results. The paid version, Moz-Pro, not only provides you with SEO software but also many unique tools and an excellent training platform. It’s promarily a combination of several SEO tools with a variety of features to help boost your search engine rank. Moz-Prod comes with a multitude of learning and resource guides and is made to be easily learned from its amazing video tutorials. Another plus is even though there are a lot of tools, the tutorials and the software itself really helps you know what to use, how to use it, and when to use it.

Cons

Sadly, Moz-Pro can only be acquired via Subscription. Additionally, larger companies will have to pay more for their subscriptions due to limited keywords.

Value for the money

Moz (free version) is really great. Moz-Pro will cost, but may be worth it if you get bumped up in google search.

Name: Jesse White
Title: Consultant
Company: Self
Industry: E-commerce
Overall
4.8/5
February 07, 2020
Pros

I've tried various SEO-related tools, as part of my work as an e-commerce consultant, and Moz is very helpful. Moz can be easily integrated as a browser extension, making it perfect for use-on-demand. It’s particularly useful for exposing “no-follow” links on webpages. This is ideal especially when considering the application of backlinks via publishing on sites that enable content syndication. The free moz-bar is really good for basic needs of both beginner and experienced marketeers. However, the paid version is even better with a ton of amazing features.

Cons

Some needed browser features are might be turned-off by default (e.g. 3rd party cookies in Chrome), but this can be somewhat easily remedied. It’s still an inconvenience though. Additionally, the user interface might not be the best as it takes some time to get used to.

Value for the money

Overall, Moz is worth the additional cost of the additional features.

Name: Agios Castellanos
Title: Marketing Coordinator
Company: Castellanos Marketing
Industry: Marketing
Overall
4.8/5
March 20, 2020
Pros

Moz offers a lot of great features and tools. Keyword explorer is definitely one of my favorites features. Being able to back my content with keywords suggested by the Keyword explorer has helped rank our webpages a lot higher. Additionally, Moz couple with SERP analysis works fantastically to inspect and boost the performance of our work. Moz easily offers a lot of options to get commendable insights into online content enabling better marketing and content delivery.

Cons

I don’t have many cons for Moz Pro. However, it would be nice to allow other nations besides the US to access he database/metrics in Moz. Additionally, it would be nice if the price were a bit cheaper. Overall, Moz Pro is worth the cost though.

Value for the money

For the services offered, Moz is an amazing tool especially for marketing purposes. Even with the additional cost for Moz Pro, it is easily worth it. 9/10 in my book.

Name: Murtuza Brani
Title: Design Consultant
Company: Self
Industry: Design
Overall
4.8/5
June 25, 2020
Pros

I've had a great experience with Moz Local over the past 4 years. Nothing negative to say, their syndication and reporting and noting of duplicates is great and a must have for any small business owner. Moz is insanely easy to setup and use. The reporting and information it provides a small business owner is absolutely amazing and very much in depth. The reporting is quick and easy and I love being able to login and see most everything I need in 2-3 clicks. Support is friendly and helpful too.

Cons

I wish they could automate some of their processes especially for bigger clients, but the reason they are so cost friendly is because you have to do "some" manual work to clean up duplicates. It would be nice if they did offer more options for anyone who doesn’t want to do the clean up work though.

Value for the money

Overall, Moz is very reasonably priced especially for the information and analytics it offers. I have yet to find a similar tool with the same functionality.

Name: Shaq Galloway
Title: Owner
Company: Galloway Enterprises
Industry: Marketing
Overall
4.8/5
July 27, 2020
Pros

Moz is one of the best marketing tools out there. Moz really opens up the door to better SEO options with its keyword exploration and open site explorer. The Moz Bar extension provides even more information including ranking on search results. And That’s just the free version of Moz! Moz-Pro offers WAY MORE. The training program is excellent and well-made. Customer support is also a huge help in learning how to use the product and even for advice on whether Moz-Pro is a necessary upgrade or not. Moz-Pro also offers a search engine rank boosting tool which I have found to be tremendously helpful. Between customer support and the tutorials, you really have everything you need to learn how to correctly use Moz and maximize your SEO potential. Hands down one of the best training guides/options out there.

Cons

I don’t really have any cons for the software itself. I guess you could consider the pricing a con. Moz-Pro is subscription-based, but is costly for larger companies. Overall, there’s not really any downsides to the software itself though.

Value for the money

Overall, Moz is one of the best SEO tools out there. It really provides a ton of options for Free and then some for the paid version. You can’t go wrong with Moz or Moz-Pro.

Name: Julian Jowalsky
Title: Consultant
Company: Jowalsky Business Management
Industry: Consulting
Overall
4.5/5
January 08, 2020
Pros

Moz is amazing for keyword searches and for business planning. I would definitely recommend it to marketing directors working on building a strategy. In my experience with clients, Moz probably isn’t the best for smaller agencies. SEM rush would probably be better for them. Moz offers a lot of features and information with minimal annoyance. Moz is also built for the big picture perspective by not offering either too little or too much detail. The interface is well made and easy to use for getting reports. It’s built well enough that you can step away for a period of a few months and get back into it with everything you need in less than 20 minutes.

Cons

similar to SEM Rush, Moz is designed slightly more for web developers than your typical marketing director. In other words, it can be a little more complicated than necessary. However, it still offers a wide range of useful tools.

Value for the money

While Moz is expensive, the options it offers are well worth it and if used correctly, should end up bringing in more value than the upfront cost.

Name: Patrick C
Title: Digital Content Manager
Company: Echo Marketing And Advertising
Industry: Marketing
Overall
4.5/5
January 08, 2020
Pros

Moz provides excellent keyword performance as well as multiple SEO metrics. The Search visibility feature is highly resourceful and perfect for tracking keywords. It’s not only useful for the site performance tracking overall but also for individual product category tracking. Probably one of the best features is seeing how top three competitors compare to your site. Honestly, there’s not much better than that for the money.

Cons

Since 2017, the company has fallen behind some of its competitors primarily with Domain Authority and Backlinks. There are better metrics that gauge the likelihood the site will rank than Moz although I would like them to improve that feature.

Value for the money

Keyword performance is definitely valuable, but I would look elsewhere for DA and back link metrics.

Name: Jamie Wright
Title: Graphic Designer
Company: The Wright Design
Industry: Design
Overall
4.5/5
June 25, 2020
Pros

I've tried various SEO-related tools, as part of my work as a content marketing practitioner. Moz can be integrated into the browser as an extension, which makes it easy to use on-demand. I particularly use it to expose 'no-follow' links on Web pages. This is very helpful when considering the application of backlinks via publishing on sites that enable content syndication. The 'free' MozBar will meet the basic needs of most novice or experienced digital marketers, but the 'paid' version offers many more features.

Cons

The tool sometime needs to use browser features that may be turned-off by default - such as 3rd party cookies in the Chrome browser. The user interface is okay for many users, but will require some investment in time.

Value for the money

Overall, Moz is a great tool and is worth the price. I would recommend it.

Name: Sarai Tisphak
Title: Digital Marketing Lead
Company: Castellanos Health Products
Industry: Ecommerce
Overall
4.5/5
June 25, 2020
Pros

Moz Pro helps us with Local SEO, keyword tracking (for specific locations which is awesome), backlink analysis, reporting, and technical site crawls. I utilize the community Q&A to bounce questions off of other experts as well. Having used many SEO softwares and Digital Marketing Suites, my favorite thing about Moz is its approach to data. The team at Moz is meticulous in producing accurate and responsible data within their tool. Domain Authority (along with the MozBar) are incredibly helpful in gauging a site's ability to rank. I love their keyword tracker - it's really easy to use. Since its most recent update, Moz's link explorer is now one of the best and boasts one of the largest link databases in the industry. Last but not least, the Moz community is incredible. The Q&A is great and high quality, really helpful.

Cons

 I don't necessarily dislike anything about Moz (I do think the user interface could be better), but in general almost every one of their tools has a superior option out there. SEMRush has far better keyword and topical research tools, Screaming Frog performs a better crawl, Majestic (subjectively) has better link data, and Ahrefs has better reports (in my opinion). I also think since seemingly changing who they do citation management through, their Local SEO tool is not what it should be.

Value for the money

Overall, Moz is amazing, but I would like to see continued improvement.

Name: Justin Jaeger
Title: Project Manager
Company: Assemble
Industry: Marketing And Technology
Overall
4/5
October 22, 2019
Pros

My favorite feature of Moz is the toolbar you can install on your browser. So when you visit any website, any page, it gives you some basic SEO information automatically. It will tell you the DA and PA, along with some other stuff. It's interesting to use, even if you aren't actively doing research, just to see how other websites are doing.

Cons

It's not as user-friendly as Ahrefs. I found the main dashboard to be quite confusing and always have had a hard time getting to where I needed to go.

Value for the money

Moz is obviously an authority and very helpful. But comparing it to other SEO tools I have used, this isn't my favorite. If I continued to do SEO focused work, I would spend the extra money on Ahrefs.

Name: Manali K
Title: Account Manager
Company: Self
Industry: Tech
Overall
3.5/5
October 30, 2019
Pros

Moz is one of the leading tools for SEO's in the industry. It's one of the first, and oldest platforms for web developers interested in optimizing SEO for their sites and has a reputation to back them up. They have solid on page analysis, good backlink tools, and strong keyword analysis and competive analysis. They also have a lot of good training tools- so if you are a beginner SEO you can quickly learn the tricks of the trade.

Cons

There are cheaper tools out there, and its relatively expensive to have a subscription. If you are a larger Enterprise account with budget, it's not a huge deal to pay $99 a month for the platform, but for an individual or Small business owner it seems like a lot.

Value for the money

Expensive for what you get- there are cheaper tools out there and its hard to justify paying the monthly fee unless you are a bigger company.

Growth Marketing Pro's Review

by Growth Marketing Pro

It seems we haven’t reviewed this software tool yet...