Shopify Review

4.8/5 41 reviews
Price: Starting at $29.00/month

All of our reviews are vetted and we enforce guidelines to ensure accuracy.

Average Ratings | 41 reviews

Overall
4.8/5
Ease of Use
4.8/5
Customer Support
4.8/5
Features
4.8/5
Value for Money
4.8/5

Product Details

Beautiful themes
Simple inventory management
Robust app store
24/7 support
"Hire an expert" feature to help you with sophisticated requirements
Point of sale hardware for physical stores
Integrations with acebook and Google Ads
Price starting at $29/mo

Shopify Competitors

About Shopify

Canada-based Shopify is so successful because they created the easiest, most accessible platform for building and launching an ecommerce store. It's the product that can guide you in selling a product from start to finish. Shopify features countless free and paid templates to make your store look beautiful out of the box. Add your products, prices, inventory with ease and create email journeys or download Shopify plugins to nurture users and get the most out of your store. There's a reason 1.2 million businesses use Shopify to sell products online.

Relevant Posts

Hailey & Mark Recommended

Shopify Reviews

Name: Cat Vee
Title: Principal
Company: Epi
Industry: Med
Overall
5/5
September 24, 2019
Pros

Customizable for my unique business, good customer suppt, integrates w our google ads, low price

Cons

Less functionality and resources than a larget provider

Value for the money

Most excellent!

Name: Melissa H
Title: Marketer
Company: Self
Industry: Real Estate/education
Overall
5/5
September 09, 2019
Pros

The gold standard for online retail that’s not eBay or Amazon. Integrations for inventory sites is getting better. I think in a year from now, these integrations will have doubled in number.

Cons

Integrations are sometimes tricky to implement. Ease if use is definitely there but can make personalization hard. You can find free templates online.

Value for the money

If you’re in the retail space, this is almost a must unless you’re selling from your own site exclusively. There is a free trial.

Name: Morathi Howie
Title: Ceo & Health Coach
Company: Vegan Love Culture
Industry: Health & Wellness
Overall
5/5
October 17, 2019
Pros

I currently use Shopify for my clothing line. Majority of my customers are in different parts of Africa. So, it is cool being able to sell to them. My first websites were built on other platforms. So, the base level plan on Shopify was an upgrade for me. It streamlined some of my ordering process. Also, Shopify has an easy setup for the layman. And it offers a lot of different apps which is (by far) the coolest part.

Cons

None here

Value for the money

Yes, I think so.

Name: Tarryce
Title: Life Coach
Company: N.g.m
Industry: Coaching
Overall
5/5
October 09, 2019
Pros

I 100% absolutely recommend Shopify. Great tool all the way around. The Granddaddy of Ecommerce platforms. Any store that you have and you're ready to get sophisticated with the website this is the tool for you. The price is phenomenal. Not to mention they're integrated with Google ads. Customer service is 24/7. So whenever you have a situation and you need help professionally immediately with Shopify customer service your in the right hands. From the most professional business owner in need of a professional website to a business owner starting out in the Ecommerce world you won't be disappointed.

Cons

Good

Value for the money

Nice

Name: Fnu Pramono
Title: Software Engineer
Company: Bubble Coding
Industry: Education
Overall
5/5
September 25, 2019
Pros

Shopify speed and load times are great even for quite huge amount of traffics. Security with shopify is also very good to handling sensitive data and processing payments. Shopify has variety of designs to be chooses as well. Also we can customize the design by ourselves. We can also code to add more features to the web app. But there are also tons of add ons both paid and free version that we can use. Lastly, with few steps, we can readily launch our ecommerce website

Cons

Shopify's plans are a bit expensive

Value for the money

pretty good

Name: John Chang
Title: Chief Pilot
Company: Bush Pilot Marketing
Industry: Consulting
Overall
5/5
September 24, 2019
Pros

The "Wordpress" of ecommerce - Shopify offers plug & play features for building your online store with templates and plugins.

Cons

Easy to get overwhelmed by the many options available without some guidance. Although Shopify offers some basic tutorials and there's a lot on YouTube, etc, it's best to work with an experienced developer.

Value for the money

There are more expensive, more sophisticated options. But Shopify is ideal for anyone to go from idea to MVP in zero to no time.

Name: Justin
Title: Freelancer
Company: Freelancer
Industry: Digital Marketing
Overall
5/5
September 24, 2019
Pros

Shopify is the easiest platform to manage your Ecommerce business. Managing inventory, generating reports, running analytics, and everything else you need from a business management and sales side is very useful, easy to use and clean.

Cons

The issue with Shopify is their ability to add additional pages to your website. It's very difficult to add and customize pages yourself unless you know at least some coding. Whereas many wordpress themes are very easy to create, update and manipulate without knowing any coding.

Value for the money

Using Shopify for ecommerce is fantastic. It's absoultey worth the base cost around $30/month. But it's really hard to build out pages other than product pages unless you can pay someone to code them for you. Personally, I would use this as my shopping cart and wordpress for the rest of my websites content.

Name: Celi
Title: Marketing
Company: Www.growthmarketingpartners.com
Industry: Marketing
Overall
5/5
September 23, 2019
Pros

Good customer service, very helpful. Great product to use if you have an Instagram presence and product(s). Many companies use shopify on IG do you know it's a good tool to use. They are helpful at showing you how to use tool and best practices. Offer webinars from time to time.

Cons

Can not use on all products (restrictions apply).

Value for the money

Good value!

Name: Kyle Ackerman
Title: Owner
Company: Advantaged Consulting
Industry: Advertising
Overall
5/5
September 18, 2019
Pros

Hands down the easiest e-commerce platform out there. Set up + ease of use.

Cons

I cannot stand how they handle chargebacks. I always required my customers to enter in billing address, zip code, 3 digit code, and phone numbers.. all that good stuff. However, I was still getting hit with chargebacks and I didn't have a defense against it so I ended up shutting that venture down. Shopify offered no help in this regard, but their customer support otherwise was very good.

Value for the money

Excellent value for the money.

Name: Naseer Ullah Khan
Title: Web Developer
Company: Gpgc Mardan
Industry: Softwarehouse
Overall
5/5
September 14, 2019
Pros

Shopify is so successful because they created the easiest, most accessible platform for building and launching an ecommerce store.Very easy to use and set up for your e commerce site or online store. Extremely intuitive and generally strong customer service. Users with few technical skills can still easily set up Shopify so the learning curve is not steep. Very easy to edit the templates and extremely customizable.very nice .Must try it.........

Cons

Not too many cons that I can see- the only one that I would note is that pricing can get really expensive if your business is medium to large sized in scale. The lite version is not very useful because it covers fewer features and is really only functional for a Facebook store.

Value for the money

If you’re in the retail space, this is almost a must unless you’re selling from your own site exclusively. There is a free trial.priceless....

Name: Roxy Helman
Title: Communications Manager
Company: Uda
Industry: Manufacturing
Overall
5/5
September 13, 2019
Pros

Very easy to use. Great discounts on shipping.

Cons

None

Value for the money

Great value.

Name: Sean Meyer
Title: Copywriter
Company: Self-employed
Industry: Marketing
Overall
5/5
September 12, 2019
Pros

Really like how easy it is to use. Definitely not the techy (or design) type, but I was able to create a good looking website in less than 48 hours... Then on top of that, it was very easy to control the "backend". In other words, the layout of Shopify is very user friendly when it comes to looking at orders, fulfilling orders, etc. Last but not least, really like the "apps" you can use as well. There are some you have to pay for, but they're always worth it, and best of all... Easy to install, which allows you to do advanced items (i.e. cart abandonment follow-ups, social proof with recent purchases, etc.) with ease. Also, if you don't have a payment processor setup yet, they have a great setup in place that allows you to create this as well (for Stripe and Paypal).

Cons

Very hard to setup a "funnel". In other words, to my knowledge, it's impossible to create a separate landing page in Shopify... And that made things difficult, as that's the easiest way to get sales. That's really the one "upside" Clickfunnels has, but other than that, Shopify definitely wins.

Value for the money

Definitely worth the $29/month, with all the features it provides, it's actually worth a lot more than that.

Name: Manali K
Title: Account Manager
Company: Self
Industry: Tech
Overall
5/5
September 11, 2019
Pros

Very easy to use and set up for your e commerce site or online store. Extremely intuitive and generally strong customer service. Users with few technical skills can still easily set up Shopify so the learning curve is not steep. Very easy to edit the templates and extremely customizable.

Cons

Not too many cons that I can see- the only one that I would note is that pricing can get really expensive if your business is medium to large sized in scale. The lite version is not very useful because it covers fewer features and is really only functional for a Facebook store.

Value for the money

Relatively high value for the money- can get pricey if you are a larger business but you get a lot of bang for the buck for a medium store.

Name: Nicole
Title: Owner
Company: Jenstarmedia
Industry: Online Marketing
Overall
5/5
September 04, 2019
Pros

If you want a simple beautiful website ready to sell your products online that I really like Shopify. The back office that they provide walks you through the steps to set up the website. The nice thing is if you are ready to make your first sale that day you can activate the account and your ready to go.

Cons

You have to be ready to pay a monthly fee for website services and a percentage of each sale with credit card purchases.

Value for the money

Shopify provides a great value for your money. I would recommend this platform if you want a quick store to sell your products.

Name: Lynn Stevens
Title: Owner
Company: Uplevel Enterprises Llc
Industry: Coaching
Overall
5/5
September 04, 2019
Pros

A very easy to use e-commerce solution. Shopify makes it surprisingly effortless to get your product online and start selling. If you don't have a product, there are many resources available in the marketplace to help you source products to sell. They offer a nice selection of free templates to help you design an appealing store.

Cons

The trial could be longer, if you are trying to set a store with a fair amount of products, like more than 10 - 15, you may need more time to setup. Some options may require you to seek out professional assistance.

Value for the money

I think that Shopify is a good value, but some options you may need are extra.

Name: R & R
Title: Co Founders
Company: Cacti
Industry: Merchandise
Overall
5/5
September 04, 2019
Pros

We have been wanting to start a business. However, with full time jobs and not a lot of resources to open a shop we found Shopify. There are a lot of resources and videos online to help getting you started. The apps are a necessity for creating a great experience for your customers. I was able to get things running in a couple of days and that was with items in the store, with an email capture, and my accounts in order. It might sound like a lot but really just make sure to watch the videos on YouTube that Shopify offers. The only things that took sometime was going through all the items there are so many! (:

Cons

Nothing integral yet only sometimes certain apps are taken down if they are not beneficial to Shopify. However, that doesn’t mean those are obstacles for your business. There are so many apps.

Value for the money

The price is actually really good once I saw the amount of apps and automate tools you get.

Name: Celine
Title: Managing Director
Company: The Wang Group
Industry: Online Retailer
Overall
5/5
September 04, 2019
Pros

An online platform with traffic. Good customer service

Cons

Not as user friendly as Amazon?!

Value for the money

It’s okay

Name: Mark Spera
Title: Cofounder
Company: Growth Marketing Pro
Industry: Marketing
Overall
5/5
September 04, 2019
Pros

Shopify is the easiest, most beautiful way to create a store online. Because Shopify is a hosted solution, you don’t need to worry about buying web hosting or installing software anywhere; the idea is that pretty much everything you need to build and run your store happens ‘out of the box.’ I love the Shopify themes, which make it super easy to make your store look extremely professional. There are "free" themes when you sign up for a paid Shopify account. Shopify excels at integrations: using the Shopify app exchange, you can send data to Mailchimp, Zapier, Google Analytics, Salesforce and a million other places. I also love the Shopify inventory management capabilities and reporting -- if you're in need of analytics that scale with a more complicated business, Shopify is great solution.

Cons

Shopify doesn't excel in the search engine optimization department. If you run a store that you hope will rank organically for your products via long tail keywords, Shopify may not be the best solution. In that case, you'd probably be better off using WooCommerce, which is built into WordPress (meaning the SEO juice is much better).

Value for the money

4/5

Name: Season Bennett
Title: Ceo
Company: The Social Barber
Industry: Beauty
Overall
5/5
September 04, 2019
Pros

Ease of use. I would say this is arguably the top e-commerce tool for business. There are apps for just about anything you would want to do. Easy to use. You don’t have to be super technical to create a great looking website.

Cons

I can’t think of many. I wish there were more free apps for loyalty programs.

Value for the money

Great value for the money.

Name: Michael O'brien
Title: Member
Company: Luxe Concepts Llc
Industry: Ecommerce
Overall
5/5
August 28, 2019
Pros

Shopify is a fast way to get to selling online quickly and in style. Great for one product stores to vast wholesale stores with 1000 plus products. Shopify is intuitive to use and even with outsourced virtual assistants one can easily use shopify. Coding is generally easy with liquid templates and customizations with their apps market make for adding essential conversion tools relatively easy. Traffic is handled well with their app servers and cloudfare for fast loading.

Cons

If you don't sell something they like or sell to much to fast the hold money or cancel your merchant account, this can kill a business. Also they add on 2% to other merchant accounts so if you're at 2.9% that makes for 4.9% processing! That's a lot to take money!

Value for the money

pretty good value hosting and setup and website all handled for you at 29 bucks a month.

Name: Sarai Tisphak
Title: Digital Marketing Lead
Company: Castellanos Health Products
Industry: Ecommerce
Overall
5/5
June 25, 2020
Pros

I have had an experience that has exceeded my expectations. By hiring their services, you receive a very intuitive platform that offers everything imaginable so that your business can be at the same level as the existing large brands. I really like that I can work with a team without geographical limitations thanks to the Shopify platform. I have saved a lot of time in the programming, they offer you many options in their templates so you can build your store with the details that you like, it is a great experience. I have worked with other platforms and none compare with Shopify. It has everything you need to succeed in digital entrepreneurship. Another important element in e-commerce is the analysis of statistics, with Shopify you have just one click, you can see the origin of web traffic and know from which electronic device people access your store.

Cons

The benefits offered by Shopify are greater than the negative aspects, so I do not identify problems when implementing it. They include constant improvements, so you can be sure that any possible inconvenience will be resolved in record time as we are accustomed to your customers.

Value for the money

Shopify is absolutely an amazing tool!

Name: Renea Hanks
Title: Owner
Company: Solid Solutions Today
Industry: Website Design
Overall
5/5
October 20, 2019
Pros

I helped a client setup their shopping cart using Shopify. I was amazed how super simple it was! SEO advantage. They have so many themes, it is hard to tell that a site is created by Shopify which is the point. You don't want to look copy/paste in a world over 1 billion sites strong.

Cons

Professional reports are not available until the $79 pricing point. This is discouraging for small businesses who need to scale quickly. That data would help them. I believe offering this as a separate pricing or lowering the pricing would be fantastic to help small businesses.

Value for the money

Good value for the money

Name: Jesse White
Title: Consultant
Company: Self
Industry: E-commerce
Overall
4.8/5
January 06, 2020
Pros

Shopify has made building your own e-commerce website an extremely simple experience. Shopify is an all-in-one solution that offers many templates perfect for attracting customers. Sales tax is also very easy to setup unlike on other platforms like Magento and Wordpress where it can be a real headache. I really love the ability to connect well with other sites like Amazon and eBay for easy inventory management and marketing opportunities.

Cons

I think some of the given templates can be a little too generic. I would definitely like to see more variety

Value for the money

Overall, Shopify is definitely worth it potentially even for a slightly bigger business.

Name: Chip Wiggins
Title: Manager
Company: Self
Industry: Marketing
Overall
4.8/5
January 08, 2020
Pros

Shopify offers a way to save lots of money and time by creating your own website while providing stable service. It’s easy to use and pretty much hassle free in my experience. The Analytics feature is superb and excellent for tweaking your inventory. Shopify continues to add new features to integrate tons of different things from social networking to sales channels. The default payment program (Stripe) is also very easy to set up and get going.

Cons

There are perhaps hundreds of apps available which can be overwhelming. On the other hand, there are lots of reviews that you can look at to find what apps would work best for you. Another potential con is the extra cost in money and potentially your site’s speed to add more features.

Value for the money

For what it offers, Shopify is worth the cost. Just don’t go overboard with features unless you find them all to be helpful.

Name: Agios Castellanos
Title: Marketing Coordinator
Company: Castellanos Marketing
Industry: Marketing
Overall
4.8/5
March 20, 2020
Pros

Shopify is a very powerful program with an overall simple design. It can be used by one individual or by a whole team simultaneously asit has great options and features for both. 

Cons

Shopify lacks many built-in features. For example, the option for customers to filter products while browsing the site isn’t there. Especially if you have a lot of products, this feature is essential and not having it is a significant loss. You can add in that feature through other apps, but it would be easier if it was a feature in Shopify. 

Value for the money

Despite some of its flaws, I probably wouldn’t use any other program besides Shopify to build a website or to maintain sales. It works great and gets the job done. I recommend Shopify for anyone who is into eCommerce as an effective and relatively simple solution. It makes life a whole lot easier in the long run and ends up being profitable.

Name: Krishna Apel
Title: Media And Communications
Company: Echo Marketing And Advertising
Industry: Marketing
Overall
4.8/5
June 23, 2020
Pros

Shopify is a well-oiled machine and the platform is evolving with modern trends. I have had a good experience with this platform. With Shopify, you can choose from thousands of online store templates that will give your online store it professional look and feel. Payments are secured and handle very discreetly giving you and your potential buyers peace of mind. Shopify integrates well with the mobile application and is optimized for users on mobile as well as desktop screens. Safe and secure back-up of all your transactional data as well your website data can be initiated with a few easy steps unlike competitive software that relies heavily on plugins Shopify breaks it down so that the website owner needs minimal coding knowledge to get around the important aspects.

Cons

In some instances adding advanced features etc. onto a specific template can be daunting if you're looking at a high level of customization that is not necessarily supported by the theme itself you can be confronted with some higher-level CSS and custom HTML coding to make additional features work well. I would love to see a free plan on Shopify especially for users that want to familiarize themselves beyond the free-trial period.

Value for the money

Overall, Shopify is well-made and a good option for the price.

Name: Jamie Wright
Title: Graphic Designer
Company: The Wright Design
Industry: Design
Overall
4.8/5
June 25, 2020
Pros

Shopify is ridiculously easy to get started with. Adding new products is really simple and intuitive. Building out the website portion of your store is also quite simple. Setting up sales tax is robust and shipping labels and that whole system is really handy. Shopify also is highly customizable and allows you to integrate many features. Shopify also fits in well with other apps, allowing further cross-integration.

Cons

Almost all Shopify stores look exactly the same. As a graphic designer and previous Shopify user, I can always tell when a shop is on Shopify. It would be nice if they added some additional options to allow for more diversity to increase marketability.

Value for the money

Shopify is valuable to get e-commerce up and running. I would definitely recommend it.

Name: Jordann Jackson
Title: Consultant
Company: Self
Industry: Marketing
Overall
4.8/5
January 07, 2020
Pros

Shopify can be an extremely helpful platform for a company that is running an online store. Shopify generates both an easy-to-use online store for customers and makes it easy for management team to connect everything to it. One perk is the number of apps in Shopify and the customization abilities they bring to the table. It’s not difficult at all for the team to view and fulfill orders or setup and utilize customer service right from our website. Overall, Shopify is great both for the customer and for your team.

Cons

Ironically enough, the number of apps makes is a little bit difficult to sort through and find the right ones for your store. It would also be nice if widgets could easily be dropped and dragged in rather than sometimes having to rely on a little bit of HTML coding to edit stuff.

Value for the money

Overall, Shopify is well worth the cost and time to learn to use it as it provides huge amounts of customization and ease of use once you get going with it.

Name: Alan Cassinelli
Title: Content Marketing Manager
Company: Opal
Industry: Marketing Software
Overall
4.8/5
August 26, 2019
Pros

Shopify should be the first and last ecommerce solution you look at. I've used it professionally ($300k revenue/month) and for side projects ($500 revenue/month). It serves both use cases perfectly. They take care of the shopping cart experience (legal, liability, secure payments, etc) so you don't have to and let you focus on serving your customers. The app store is a fantastic resource to take your store to the next level.

Cons

My only con is that a professional level you pretty much have to hire a developer to do anything custom with your store or theme. For a marketer like myself, I wish there was more I could do without requiring the assistance of a developer.

Value for the money

The basic plan of Shopify is a great value for the money. We ran our entire DTC business off of it. We tried Shopify Plus for a year but the added cost wasn't worth it - the benefits you got were too hard to take advantage of and didn't make sense for a company our size (10 people).

Name: Sam Churos
Title: Administrator
Company: S. Churos Music
Industry: Education
Overall
4.8/5
January 03, 2020
Pros

Whether you are just a simple startup or a larger enterprise solution, Shopify is easily compatible with pretty much any business. Shopify allows businesses to create a simple checkout solution without a lot of hiccups or time wasted by hiring an inexperienced developer or trying to work on it yourself if you lack the necessary skills. Shopify is highly customizable with many template options allowing each store to have a unique, customized feel.

Cons

Recently, Shopify has been a bit slow. I’ve heard this is due to the servers potentially getting slightly overwhelmed during the recent busy holiday season. Hopefully, Shopify is able to improve their server speed so there is minimal lag or downtime and no loss of customers, but we’ll see what happens.

Value for the money

Overall, I would say Shopify is worth the cost. We have definitely profited from using it.

Name: Cat Vee
Title: Principl
Company: Epi
Industry: Med
Overall
4.8/5
October 20, 2019
Pros

wonderful for small businesses that need to customize their inventory and marketing. Allows flexibility and creativity outside of big box solution

Cons

Don't get the horsepower of big box

Value for the money

very good

Name: Amanda
Title: Ceo
Company: Chamber Of Mind
Industry: E-commerce
Overall
4.8/5
August 27, 2019
Pros

Great connection. In my practice, there was not a single case that the platform failed Video and audio communication with each participant. The organizer has the opportunity to turn the microphone on and off, as well as turn off the video. You can enter the conference as a participant with view-only rights. You can share the screen (screensharing) already with sound. The screen demonstration can be paused. An interactive whiteboard is built into the platform, you can easily and quickly switch from a screen demonstration to a whiteboard

Cons

The disadvantage of the platform is that students can only draw, it’s impossible to move anything on a virtual whiteboard (as, for example, in Realtimeboard),

Value for the money

Zoom is perfect for individual and group classes, students can enter both from a computer and from a tablet with a phone. Anyone with a link or conference ID can connect to a video conference. The event can be planned in advance, and you can also make a repeating link.

Name: Hira Rehman
Title: Owner
Company: More Solid Solutions Today
Industry: Web Design And Videography
Overall
4.8/5
August 04, 2020
Pros

Shopify is a small business owner’s best friend. It is easy to set up and use on both the consumer and developer end. Shopify can be used separately or integrated with other apps like Wix. Shopify really comes in handy with its main purpose: to have an online storefront. It is reasonably priced, and the value it offers in having a nice looking storefront is phenomenal. It’s not hard at all to create a storefront that looks very attractive and is easily navigated by consumers. Even better, it can be used with other SEO software to bring more attention and increase sales. Shopify’s team is very much on top of things as they keep adding new features and improvements. I have had an excellent experience with them. Their customer support is top-notch.

Cons

It can be hard to set up a separate landing page within Shopify. However, it can be easily integrated with other apps, somewhat negating this issue. Other than that, Shopify works quite well.

Value for the money

Shopify is a very useful tool, simplifying the sales process. Shopify is also reasonably priced especially considering the revenue potential it opens up. I would highly recommend it.

Name: Nalin
Title: Founder
Company: Crush Crowdfunding
Industry: Marketing
Overall
4.5/5
August 26, 2019
Pros

- Provides end-to-end functionality for eCommerce stores - Myriad of outside articles, blogs, videos, etc. explaining Shopify (huge network) - Many free widgets to customize things you can do on your site

Cons

- Difficult to create custom stores (you'll probably have to hire someone if you have low coding knowledge)

Value for the money

You can take and make Shopify exactly what you want, if you spend time (or money) on it. It's the ultimate solution for selling products online (via POD, dropshipping, regular eCommerce, etc.)

Name: Patrick C
Title: Digital Content Manager
Company: Echo Marketing And Advertising
Industry: Marketing
Overall
4.5/5
January 08, 2020
Pros

As far as I know, none of our clients who use Shopify have experienced any glitches. Shopify is perfect for both small seller and large sellers alike. Shopify is arguable the most popular platform for creating unique online stores. Shopify is highly secure and has superb up-time especially compared to alternatives. There are a lot of themes (both free and paid) which can be used and easily edited. There are also plenty of apps that can be integrated with Shopify.

Cons

The only problem I have either Shopify is you can’t set up complex shipping rules for free. You have to pay a fee or upgrade your plan and then also pay for a third party app to get better shipping.

Value for the money

Shopify is a good solution for most clients.

Name: Ginger Oliver
Title: Associate Manager
Company: Oliver Marketing & Ecommerce
Industry: Marketing
Overall
4.5/5
July 06, 2020
Pros

Shopify is really easy to setup and use. Additionally, Shopify has a lot of very cheap options making it ideal for smaller businesses. Shopify offers a wide variety of features which can be utilized right away. Shopify also allows for a lot of plugins to be used. Overall, it’s very easy to configure and to add plugins. Shopify is pretty simple to use and looks basic, but you can pa for a more professional suite if you want to. Customer support is excellent and has always been able to answer questions quickly and efficiently.

Cons

The international function is limiting. It does not support multi currency or allow for easy setting up different stores for each country. You have to set up a new store for each individual country. All of this can hinder SEO purposes and make it difficult to track stuff across the multiple stores. Additionally, you cannot customize the checkout funnel. While this keeps the system relatively stable, it does not allow you to do A/B Testing and improve conversion on checkout.

Value for the money

Shopify is a great tool for startups at a reasonable price. However, for more advanced companies, it may be worth looking into a better tool with more options which requires more technical skill to set up and use.

Name: Cat Vee
Title: Principal
Company: Epi
Industry: Health
Overall
4.3/5
August 27, 2019
Pros

Ok, so happy to be able to host my own store selling services and products and not have to deal with the big guys! great dashboard, can optimize easily,

Cons

onboarding a new system is often laborious, who wants to change, but yes, worth it..

Value for the money

lets just say revenues are up....AND invested in their stock which did a nice rise too! happy happy happy!!!

Name: Murtuza Brani
Title: Design Consultant
Company: Self
Industry: Design
Overall
4.3/5
June 25, 2020
Pros

Shopify has comprehensive features that are super easy to use. It offers everything you need to get your online storefront up and running quickly, and many more advanced features that allow you to integrate with other vendors' tools and platforms. There are a ton of Shopify developers out there if you want help customizing your storefront, or you can choose from a bunch of existing templates. Shopify is a leader in its space because of its flawless existing integrations with other platforms. You may be able to find something a little cheaper, but if you do, you will likely experience much more difficultly as you try to expand your business with less features than Shopify offers.

Cons

The built-in analytics are super basic; it would be nice to have something slightly more robust, but then again, you can easily integrate with Google Analytics so you're not at a complete loss. However, add google analytics also complicates things with a second dashboard. Customer support is good for most types of questions, but not as satisfying for a few more challenging questions I've posed. It would be nice to have better responses for some of the more difficult questions since that is the whole reason for having customer support.

Value for the money

Overall, Shopify is still great and offers a lot. However, if a competitor offered the same features with better customer support, I would switch to the competitor.

Name: Amanda
Title: Ceo
Company: Chamber Of Mind
Industry: E-commerce
Overall
4/5
August 27, 2019
Pros

The Shopify admin panel is well thought out, so even the abundance of settings does not make it difficult to learn. Among other positive aspects I can add quality themes with good design. It has effective tools for increasing sales: discount codes and gift certificates, sending messages to customers who added goods to the basket but did not complete the purchase. A large number of applications for expanding functionality. In addition, SEO is an important point in the platform. Thanks to this approach, continuous optimization of the page content is possible: changing the description, images and much more.

Cons

Bad adaptation for other countries, like lack of multi languages or strict social networks.

Value for the money

Shopify is an almost perfect tool of western e-commerces. Quite expensive, some features are missing from the box.

Name: Lizzie Brooks
Title: Founder
Company: Blix Creative
Industry: Marketing
Overall
3.8/5
August 27, 2019
Pros

Easy to get started. 14 day trial is very useful. Simple to set up and get your head around. One of the better sites for ecommerce. Lots of great apps that integrate easily with the site.

Cons

Limited website functions - not easily modifiable but the basics are fine for beginners. Could be more free apps.

Value for the money

Relatively expensive for a monthly site fee

Name: Crispin
Title: Freelancer
Company: Self
Industry: Graphic Design
Overall
3.5/5
October 21, 2019
Pros

Shopify makes it easy for a small business to get started. With all the payment, SEO and inventory management built in to the platform. There are also a number of themes to choose from and a massive app store that can help you customize your site as you please.

Cons

Shopify is great as long as you are just looking for the cookie cutter basics. Once you start asking or needing more out of it, you find yourself in a land of never ending apps and poor customer support. Although Shopify does have customer support available, and they are easy to get in touch with, they will constantly tell you to hire an outside developer (which, when you add custom code, disables you from being able to update the theme and causes problems down the line). They will also blame the slowness of your website on the number of apps you have - while in the same breathe recommending a new app to speed up your site. In addition, as a designer, I found myself very boxed in by the options to create new pages - unlike companies like Squarespace that give you a bit more design freedom with their themes. For wholesale sites - they recently came out with a new theme that is specifically marketed towards wholesale websites however upon purchasing we immediately realized it didn't have a lot of the standard wholesale features (such as quantity price breaks or inventory tracking).

Value for the money

Like I said - great company and worth the money if you are getting started or aren't asking for anything outside of the cookie cutter basics. Once you start customizing and adding in apps, you eventually will hit a price point/frustration level where a custom website might make more sense.

Growth Marketing Pro's Review

by Growth Marketing Pro

I'm a marketing guy, a pizza enthusiast and San Francisco resident. Also, I started this blog, Growth Marketing Pro and built it into a 6-figure passive income business in 18 months.
Avatar

Shopify is an ecommerce software behemoth currently valued at over $44 billion (SHOP).

Canada-based Shopify is so successful because they created the easiest, most accessible platform for building and launching an ecommerce store.

Shopify tapped into a huge pain point: ecommerce entrepreneurs want to sell their product on their own website, not Ebay, Etsy or Amazon.

Coding an ecommerce website from scratch would cost tens of thousands of dollars in developer fees. Plus, it would be a total headache to tame all that code for a non-technical entrepreneur!

shopify setup and review

Shopify’s ecommerce solution enables you to design and build an ecommerce store on the web in a few minutes.

I’ve become a little bit of a fanboy.

Read on to see my Shopify review, setup guide and pricing recommendations.

First, a little background on me:

I’m An Ecommerce Entrepreneur

shopify review

I built an ecommerce company. It was actually a hybrid ecommerce/physical store company — but just the same, I grew it from nothing to a couple million in revenue.

As an entrepreneur I learned a lot — the rosy lessons and the tougher ones.

One of those nuggets of wisdom is that switching ecommerce platforms is hard.

My company, BeGood started on WooCommerce, but then switched to Shopify. Pulling the switcheroo was a headache, logistically and emotionally. As an entrepreneur, the last thing you want to spend your time fussing with is your ecommerce platform.

Get it right the first time.

Since it has been about three years since I last used Shopify, I decided it was time for another test run.

Read on to see my review and setup guide.

By the way: I’m giving away 2 growth hacks you won’t find anywhere else on the internet for FREE!

My Shopify Review

Between Magento, BigCommerce, WooCommerce and others, you have more than enough ecommerce platform choices.

In general, I look for a few things when reviewing software like this:

  1. Ease of use: we’re not all software wizards. Can the product guide me from start to finish easily?
  2. Integrations: can I add all sorts of apps and bells and whistles to make my store more optimized, prettier or otherwise?
  3. Design: can I get my store to look as I want it to?
  4. Optimized: is the store search engine optimized? In other words, if someone searches “funny Drake tee shirt,” my product better show up if that’s what I’m selling!
shopify review

Shopify gets excellent reviews, as evidence from a simple Google Search. Generally encouraging! I was happy to dive in and create my own Growth Marketing Pro store!

Getting Started With Shopify

Getting started with Shopify is easy. Click below and sign up for yourself.

Click to Shopify

I decided I would create a store called growthmarketingprostore.com. I’ll probably cancel the subscription once my experiment is complete. So if you can’t access that domain any longer you know why!

shopify store for ecommerce

Once on this landing page I entered my email and got started.

The 14-day Shopify free trial was actually free. I didn’t need to enter a credit card.

shopify review and setup step 1

Add an address so that my ecommerce store can make moneys!

shopify review and setup step 2

Next, I was dropped into the Shopify dashboard.

This is a prettier version of what I remember from a few years ago. The left rail has a bunch of features that allow you to see your orders, products, customers and how they’re all behaving on your website.

But before all that, Shopify’s dashboard does guide you through the proper first steps. I really liked how easy setup was from this point forward.

  1. Add a product to start selling
  2. Customize (design) your online store
  3. Add your own domain name
shopify review and setup step 3

I started by “adding a product to sell” and “buying a domain name.”

Adding my first product was easy and intuitive. It required a little bit of information about the product including a photo, inventory count, title and description.

shopify review and setup step 4

Buying a domain was also easy (and cheap).

Growthmarketingprostore.com was only $14/year. That’s as good of a price as you would get with any other domain host. Make sure to go to your email and “verify” your domain name once registering it. Doing so will activate it.

Shopify gives you free email accounts as well: [email protected] It even forwards those emails directly to the email address you signed up with. This was an awesome feature.

shopify review and setup step 6

At this point, I went to growthmarketingprostore.com to see what it looked like.

It was kind of cool, because Shopify automatically creates a “coming soon” prelaunch page with an email capture!

shopify review and setup temporary landing page

These sorts of pages are useful if you are still creating your product, but want to begin showcasing your store and collecting pre-launch email addresses.

It’s never too early to start building an audience so if you’re going to start an ecommerce company, today is a good day to get going.

Companies like Harry’s, Jet.com and Everlane captured hundreds of thousands of email addresses before ever selling a product.

Shopify Pricing

In order to launch your Shopify site, you need to buy a paid plan. To be honest, given all the features and functionality of Shopify, it’s a pretty affordable deal.

Five years ago, it would have cost tens of thousands of dollars to create an ecommerce website capable of selling product, managing inventory and delighting customers with a seamless experience. Even by spending a bunch of money on engineers, I don’t believe that any solution is better than Shopify.

I’ve spoken with a lot of ecommerce entrepreneurs at this point. In fact, when I spoke with the founders of online lingerie company, ThirdLove they were in the process of switching to Shopify, which was in lieu of hiring several new software engineers.

From this article, I would estimate they are doing over $30 million per year. On a Shopify store!

Shopify’s pricing is pretty straightforward.

shopify pricing

Basic Shopify

A great solution for beginning your ecommerce adventure. I chose the $29/month basic plan, which includes:

  • Two staff accounts (admins)
  • A small shipping discount
  • 2.9% fee + 30 cents for every online sale
  • 2.7% + 0 cents for every in person sale (if you are going to use Shopify to sell at events or stores)

This plan should totally suffice for your beginning needs.

Shopify and Advanced Shopify

These solutions are great for growing ecommerce businesses. Eventually, paying a little more per month will save you a lot in merchant fees. Plus you will be able to have more admins — which for a growing team is important.

The more advanced plans also have a couple of neat features that allow you to optimize your business, including gift cards, abandoned cart recovery and better credit card rates.

Again, for the first-time ecommerce entrepreneur, the Basic plan is great.

Finishing Shopify Setup

All that remained to finish setup was choosing a Shopify theme (store design) and removing the password from your storefront so that users can begin shopping!

Choosing a theme is quite easy. You will do it from your Shopify dashboard. All of the themes are pretty nice. They’re also stable — meaning you’ll never have code snafus that will bring your site down or cause you hassle.

shopify review and setup step 8 choose a plan

I built a pretty lame store. I didn’t spend much time (any time) designing it. But it’s very straightforward.

My finished shopping site looked like this:

shopify store product page

Definitely nothing to write home about — but the store is fully functional and took about 15 minutes to build from start to finish.

Add in a couple hours of designing, adding products and tweaking and I could be open for business by this afternoon!

Some Stores Built on Shopify Ecommerce

It’s usually good to check on who else is using the platform in question.

Through my consulting work, conversations with entrepreneurs and some research, see these beautiful stores built on Shopify. Many of them are names you’ve heard of:

My Shopify Review in Summary

Shopify is the best ecommerce solution. As I said, I rate software in terms of 1) ease of use 2) integrations 3) design 4) optimization.

Shopify pretty much hits the mark across the board.

Ease of Use: 5/5

Shopify setup was the easiest setup I can imagine. I didn’t have to pause once. From start to finish, Shopify took 15 minutes to set up. I promise, I don’t give the 5/5 rating often.

I also love that you can buy your domain name in the Shopify platform. This saves you from having to deal with a domain host.

As far as making product pages, managing inventory and filling orders: Shopify checks all those boxes too.

I give Shopify the highest marks possible in terms of ease of use.

Integrations: 5/5

You should never have to write a line of code to make an ecommerce store. Integrations make your life easy by enabling you to do custom things to your site to really make it your own.

Shopify has integrations. In fact, there is a Shopify Integrations and Plugin Store. This is basically the App Store for Shopify.

shopify plugins and apps

Many of my favorite tools and extremely useful tools including Mailchimp, Instagram shopping plugin, email capture plugins and a subscription billing service for subscription ecommerce companies.

Design: 5/5

Designing with Shopify is as easy as choosing a theme. The basic themes and paid themes are beautiful, safe and fully customizable. Hard not to give Shopify a 5/5 here.

And you can continue getting more custom as you grow. There are simple ways to add new fonts, create very customer JavaScript features and do anything your heart desires. There are a ton of large brands with beautiful websites that trust Shopify for their designs.

Of course, if you just want a sexy, functional store out of the box, Shopify has you covered.

Optimization: 4/5

Shopify used to have poor search engine optimization. This meant that people searching for your product on Google may not have found your Shopify store. However, it appears they have corrected this — allowing you to add tags to improve your SEO. In terms of website speed (also important for optimization): Shopify scores very well.

The only thing to note is that if your business is very dependent on a blog and/or Google organic traffic, you should definitely create a WordPress blog and link it with your Shopify store.

Shopify is optimized on site, however. You’ll notice that the checkout flow is simple and seamless out of the box. Additionally, product pages are sleakly designed to encourage users to add items to cart.

Shopify knows what they’re doing.

In Conclusion

Shopify is a great product. I couldn’t recommend it more for the budding ecommerce entrepreneur!

Shopify is the easiest, most functional ecommerce solution out there.

–> Click here to create your Shopify store <–

Disclaimer: We occasionally link to products and earn fees. We only review products we trust. And we only trust about 10.