Trello Review

4.8/5 23 reviews
Price: Starting at $0.00/month

All of our reviews are vetted and we enforce guidelines to ensure accuracy.

Average Ratings | 23 reviews

Overall
4.8/5
Ease of Use
4.8/5
Customer Support
4.9/5
Features
4.7/5
Value for Money
4.8/5

Product Details

Stupid simple cloud-based project management tool
Boards, lists, and cards enable you to organize and prioritize your projects
"Time & expense tracking "
Idea management
Milestone tracking
Price starting at $0/mo

Trello Competitors

About Trello

Whether it’s for work, a side project or even the next family vacation, Trello helps your team stay organized. Trello is the ideal project management and collaboration tool for small and medium size businesses. Add comments, due dates, and attachments to Trello cards. Plus, Trello integrates with your team's favorite tools like Slack, Dropbox and Google Drive.

Relevant Posts

Hailey & Mark Recommended

Trello Reviews

Name: Agios Castellanos
Title: Marketing Coordinator
Company: Castellanos Marketing
Industry: Marketing
Overall
5/5
March 20, 2020
Pros

Trello offers a visual option to enable your team to better communicate and stay on top of tasks. One thing I really like about Trello is how easy it is to combine it with notification options such as email or mobile apps so team members can stay up to date. Trello is extremely flexible and customizable making it ideal for communication and adjusting tasks on the go. Additionally, the cards are very intuitive, allowing you to add not just plain text but also photos, documents, and notes. Having the option to add deadlines is also fantastic as it allows us to keep track of progress and not lag behind.

Cons

Usernames are randomly created and not very convenient for use. It would be really nice if they added an option to choose your own username or edit it later to reflect changes in position/tasks. As far as the rest of the software, everything works excellently.

Value for the money

Trello is invaluable especially for smaller businesses needing effective communication. The free personal plan is amazing and the paid team plan is even better.

Name: Michael O'brien
Title: Member
Company: Luxe Concepts Llc
Industry: Ecommerce
Overall
5/5
October 27, 2019
Pros

Trello is awesome. It's free, kanji board style scrum style planning software. Perfect for keeping a to do list and a agile environment from within trello. Everyone has left for Monday and Slack and I still use trello and it gets the job done just fine. Cool javascript stack and works well on the app or on the browser. Great design and japanese layout.

Cons

not instant messaging type platform or cons but i see this is not really a con it's a tool for keeping score on what is in the pipeline which it does well.

Value for the money

free for personal use which is awesome or cheap for trello gold for enterprise.

Name: Evan C
Title: Manager
Company: Self
Industry: Real Estate
Overall
5/5
October 29, 2019
Pros

Trello is extremely useful for planning things out or for simply organizing lists of tasks for a team. I have been able to use it with various teams I have been on both with my business and with other organizations. I have even used Trello to organize some of my own home improvement projects and other projects outside of my professional environment. The ease of use is very convenient, and the $0 price tag for personal use is ideal.

Cons

To be honest, I have nothing to put here. Trello does its job well!

Value for the money

100% worth the price even if you need to pay some for trello gold for your business.

Name: Josh R
Title: Teacher
Company: Self
Industry: Education
Overall
5/5
December 05, 2019
Pros

Trello is an easy to use, interactive tool for teams to collaborate. Trello allows users to organize lists and plan events with a simple, yet effective format. I have enjoyed using Trello for various projects for business projects and also for a few personal projects. I've found it to be helpful for keeping lists in an easy to access place rather than simply using a piece of paper that may be thrown away.

Cons

None unless you prefer physical paper lists.

Value for the money

Trello is free for personal use. Trello gold is absolutely worth it for business use.

Name: Keon Mundo
Title: Consultant
Company: Self
Industry: Marketing
Overall
5/5
December 27, 2019
Pros

Trello has helped me a lot with organizing lists and goals. It is super easy to collaborate and share ideas on it or to just put up various tasks that need to be done. The format is relatively simple but very utile. Honestly, Trello has been amazing for various lists and tasks I’ve needed to organize. I really like how accessible it is since I can login on pretty much any device to access it.

Cons

There are no cons in my opinion.

Value for the money

Free personal use is awesome. I have no experience with the paid version: Trello Gold.

Name: Sam Churos
Title: Administrator
Company: S. Churos Music
Industry: Education
Overall
5/5
January 03, 2020
Pros

 Trello is highly Customizable and flexible. The checklist feature on the task cards is great for assigning items for different team members to do. When they finish an activity, they simply check the box and it posts a notification on the task and the main project screen. The labeling system is also quite useful to see at a quick glance the entire project. In short, it is an excellent tool for product management.

Cons

I can’t think of any cons.

Value for the money

Absolutely worth spending some time using since it’s otherwise free.

Name: Jackie Robinson
Title: Founder
Company: Rohly Creative
Industry: Marketing
Overall
5/5
July 31, 2020
Pros

Trello offers a ton of amazing features for a free product. It’s perfect for communicating with your team and staying on top of tasks. Trello provides a way to visualize tasks and to have task lists in one place. Tasks can be easily created, organized, and assigned. Tasks also can be given due dates as deadlines. I really enjoy how older tasks also start to change color to draw attention to them so they receive higher priority. Trello is very easy to access both on mobile and on a computer. Trello itself is easy to use and setup, making it an even better option. I really like having the option to organize tasks not just by grouping but also by color to have another layer of organization and visual appeal. The interface looks really good and is easy to use.

Cons

There’s not really anything I don’t like about Trello.

Value for the money

Trello is a fantastic tool for list planning. I even use it for personal uses and not just for business. From doing something with family to personal projects to larger business projects, Trello is useful for a lot of these. I would highly recommend Trello.

Name: Jordann Jackson
Title: Consultant
Company: Self
Industry: Marketing
Overall
5/5
January 06, 2020
Pros

I have used many different project management/personal organization tools and none of them ever seemed to "stick" until Trello came along. The app is fantastically built with an incredible UX no matter the device. It’s perfect for various small projects even though it’s not DevOps, and it still has its unique place. I’ve never had any bugs or any sync issues, and there’s no unecessary junk added to the interface.

Cons

I personally don't consider this a criticism but I could see how some would say its not good enough as an enterprise project management tool. As I use this primarily for personal projects, I have had no trouble.

Value for the money

100% worth the cost for Trello Pro.

Name: Troy Rogers
Title: Photographer
Company: Self
Industry: Photography
Overall
5/5
July 24, 2020
Pros

Trello is amazing. There’s really nothing to it to set it all up. You start out with a blank slate board which you can easily add tasks and subtasks to. Adding tasks/subtasks is no problem at all and it’s easy to categorize them and arrange them according to different purposes. The app is built really well with an incredible UX across every device I’ve tried it on. It’s easy to use on both mobile and desktop devices. Smaller personal projects and even larger team projects are quite easy to manage and organize with Trello. The interface is also really clean with no annoying clutter or unnecessary junk. It’s really clean, attractive, and focused.

Cons

I don’t really have any complaints for Trello. However, I could see how some would not consider it to be an ideal tool. It does have some limitations, but it’s convenient for smaller projects especially. I’d say it’s a bit harder for team use than personal use.

Value for the money

Trello is fantastic for personal use especially. I would highly recommend it even for the slight cost.

Name: Justin Jaeger
Title: Project Manager
Company: Assemble
Industry: Marketing And Technology
Overall
5/5
October 22, 2019
Pros

Trello has the potential to be really awesome, depending on your project tracking needs. One of my clients tracked all of his blog articles through Trello, with each "board" being another member of the team. Everything that was in my queue as the writer started was moved from the "Next Articles" board to me. Once I did my part, I simply moved it to the next board - editing (which was another team member. With everyone in charge of their own board, things moved down the line efficiently and quickly. I personally loved that particular use case and it served that purpose really well! Even for individual project tracking without any collaboration, it's super useful and keeps you far more organized than throwing everything into a notepad or document.

Cons

None

Value for the money

You can start for free (and probably keep it free if it's just you) so it's definitely worth it. Stay organized either in your personal life or your business. I love using this tool

Name: Ginger Oliver
Title: Associate Manager
Company: Oliver Marketing & Ecommerce
Industry: Marketing
Overall
5/5
July 06, 2020
Pros

Trello is my go-to tool for planning and executing projects. I use it along with my team to plan and execute projects across multiple teams and functions. Trello is very well designed and has an amazing interface. It is very simple to use, but has multiple layers of complexity that can be added to it for additional function. Trello allows for easy cross-company project planning while keeping things in an easy to understand environment. Trello makes communication with multiple teams and departments really easy especially when working on a months-long project. What’s even more is it’s easy to add freelancers and external partners to Trello, allowing us to add contractors or individuals and not a whole department. Customer support is very helpful although you probably won’t need them since Trello is so intuitive and easy to use.

Cons

The free version’s functionality is pretty basic. Upgraded paid plans cost a bit more and is comparable to Asana in the features offered. “Guests” have to be paid for as well which can be a pain. Sub tasks don’t have a deadline functionality like the normal tasks do. Other than that, Trello is fantastic.

Value for the money

I would definitely recommend Trello, both the free version and the paid version.

Name: Ben Dover
Title: Neoclassical Artist
Company: Freelance
Industry: Artistry
Overall
4.8/5
August 13, 2020
Pros

Trello is truly amazing. For team and individual project planning, Trello provides pretty much everything you will need for an effective plan. Trello is easy to set up and use. The interface focuses around a dashboard kind of like a bulletin board. You can add tasks as cards which can be categorized easily. Subcategories can also be created, and cards can be assigned to individual team members. One really neat feature is the fade feature which highlights older cards that have not been completed yet. This is especially helpful if a task has been postponed frequently, but needs to be done soon. Cards can be collaborated on by multiple individuals simultaneously, making for a smooth and fast experience. Notes can also be added onto the cards which is a helpful feature.

Cons

Trello is somewhat limited for bigger teams. It could be used, but I can see where it would lack features compared to other tools like Asana. It would be nice to have a few more added features or integrations available especially for larger teams.

Value for the money

Overall, Trello is a simple, but effective project collaboration tool. For free, it’s great for personal use. For smaller teams, the paid version is a reasonable price.

Name: Joe King
Title: Business Development
Company: Digital Analyst Team
Industry: It And Marketing Solutions
Overall
4.8/5
July 06, 2020
Pros

Trello is an amazing tool for improving team efficiency and communication. We have been able to increase our efficiency in planning/executing tasks by at least 100%. The card system is innovative and well made. The ability to see all of your tasks while allowing for prioritization and organization means optimal efficiency in tasking. Tasks can be assigned to not just one person, but multiple people if desired. Trello runs very smoothly and is easy to use. It also has a clean user interface, making for a pleasurable experience. Tracking individual members’ progress is also a breeze due to the “completed” options. The calendar plugin is excellent and really useful. Other plugins are not hard to add and add to the overall efficiency very well.

Cons

Trello could use some added features such as adding a time-stamp to a project. Additionally, having a messaging function rather than simply comments would be nice. Diving cards and tasks under a single person would be great to have as well.

Value for the money

Overall, Trello is a wellmade tool. From free start to more expensive plans, Trello is a must have buy.

Name: Sarai Tisphak
Title: Digital Marketing Lead
Company: Castellanos Health Products
Industry: Ecommerce
Overall
4.8/5
June 25, 2020
Pros

Trello is Beautiful. Overall, I love the system and features. We use it for work all the time. Coming from wrike, I love how you can create visual lists of what needs to get done. Each list is like a post-it on the fridge with bullet lists of things to check off. Its super easy to move things around and reschedule and see what has been accomplished at a glance.

Cons

The customer support for marketing related promos is terrible. For example, they were hosting a contest or a give away to win a vacation. I followed the steps but there was no way of submitting... and at the end, I never heard back if I was entered to win. The customer support for technical problems was great however. I once had a glitch and after 3 emails, I was able to recover my information with the help of the support team.

Value for the money

Trello itself is great, but the customer support is lacking.

Name: Murtuza Brani
Title: Design Consultant
Company: Self
Industry: Design
Overall
4.8/5
January 09, 2020
Pros

Trello has an amazing interface easily accessible by multiple people. It allows for efficient and clear communication especially with work projects. Probably the best aspect is the ability to collaborate on each card and add files or links to it if needed. To do list option for cards is also very helpful in staying on top of things.

Cons

Overall I love interface, but there’s one thing I didn’t like. Having comments on the bottom are frustrating. It would be much better if I could move the comments to the side of a card rather than having the card continue getting longer.

Value for the money

Trello is worth it.

Name: Jamie Wright
Title: Graphic Designer
Company: The Wright Design
Industry: Design
Overall
4.8/5
February 06, 2020
Pros

Each of our team leaders utilizes Trello, and we’ve all agreed Trello allows us to be extremely flexible. In fact, we’ve used it so much that we have many different boards and lists upon lists. However, since Trello is so intuitive, we’ve been able to effectively communicate with it rather than getting consumed in chaos. Trello is ideal for planning and coordinating events as well as working on yearly, monthly, or even daily goals. What I love the most about Trello is its flexibility in allowing us to not only communicate new ideas or tasks but also to record and monitor the progress of them.

Cons

As of this review, I have not found a way to have the same task listed on multiple boards and collaborated on. We’ve been able to make copies of tasks we need for different teams, but it adds an extra unnecessary step when we have to update not just one task but all the copies of it. Other than that, I have no complaints.

Value for the money

Trello is perfect for personal use (and free). For businesses, the added communication of having multiple people on the same board is well worth the low cost.

Name: Julian Jowalsky
Title: Consultant
Company: Jowalsky Business Management
Industry: Consulting
Overall
4.8/5
January 09, 2020
Pros

Trello is a useful tool ideal for improving your productivity and for immensely reducing stress. Trello has a very small learning curve and is easy to set up. The visual appeal is very beneficial especially when managing many aspects within a project. There are tons of added features, and more being added constantly. One thing I really enjoy is the easy accessibility between devices.

Cons

It would be nice if the reminder feature could be fully customized. Also, completed tasks should have a “completed” option that automatically marks and moves them to a completed column.

Value for the money

As with Canva, I can’t complain with a free price tag or even paying a reasonable fee to have more users access.

Name: Krishna Apel
Title: Media Tech
Company: Echo Marketing And Advertising
Industry: Marketing Consultants
Overall
4.8/5
January 08, 2020
Pros

 Trello is super easy to set up and integrate. It's very straight forward and requires little to no training. We used to use Asana but Asana’s interface made it hard for users to adopt. After switching to trello we had 100% adoption rate. Trello offers tons of extra features and apps that can be integrated. I really enjoy the visual cards bc they really draw you in and help you focus more.

Cons

I think it is a little pricey for what you get if you have lots of users. However, it is worth it when you have multiple projects to work on.

Value for the money

Absolutely worth the cost if you need to replace a less efficient system.

Name: Patrick C
Title: Digital Content Manager
Company: Echo Marketing And Advertising
Industry: Marketing
Overall
4.8/5
January 08, 2020
Pros

Trello’s feature rich design makes it easy to adapt to a variety of project management techniques. Most of the functions are highly intuitive and there’s not one right way to learn or use them. Even though Trello has a ton of features, its greatest feature is its flexibility. It’s very easy to configure a workflow that successfully streamlines processes and increases efficiency with collaborating with others and tracking progress. Trello also has a mobile app allowing users to keep up with updates on the go.

Cons

I don’t have much to complain about. Honestly, the only drawback might be the fact that many people may want to quickly give up on using it prematurely as it can be overwhelming when they first set out to configure their work space and workflows.

Value for the money

Excellent value overall. Definitely take the time to look into it!

Name: Jesse White
Title: Consultant
Company: Self
Industry: E-commerce
Overall
4.8/5
January 06, 2020
Pros

For small scale projects, Trello is absolutely the best. Trello is simple to set up and use. It is also ideal for many styles of project management due to its flexibility. I’ve been able to use it on several smaller side projects, increasing workflow and productivity for small teams. The plugins are fun and easy to use as well. I really liked the "aging cards" effect which reveals cards that haven’t been moving through the workflow quickly enough.

Cons

The costs and features limit you to smaller projects and teams. It’s definitely not ideal for large scale projects.

Value for the money

Trello is worth the cost for smaller projects, but I would recommend going with something else for larger projects.

Name: John Chang
Title: Chief Instigator
Company: Esl Masterminds
Industry: Education / Coaching
Overall
4.5/5
October 20, 2019
Pros

Trello combines intuitive design with loads of key features. It's my goto project / team management tool. The board and card system is easy to learn.

Cons

Due to its online nature you're limited to web only access. There is some customization, but it's mostly the layout provided. Without paying the subscription there is little customer support.

Value for the money

Since the free version offers what most users need, it's unbeatable for value.

Name: Himanshu Goel
Title: Ad Operations Specialist
Company: Addtitans
Industry: Marketing
Overall
4.3/5
January 30, 2020
Pros

One of the things I like most about Trello is its easy to use dashboards and functions. You can assign tasks to your remote team, check their progress and evaluate performance. I am solving the problem of getting my tasks done on time and sharing the complete details of my project with my team. Trello helps in keeping the status and ideas of projects and boards at one place. Also, you can use different colors to differentiate certain tasks and their progress.

Cons

It can be a little complicated if there are too many tasks in undefined manner. It doesn't offer the feature of stopwatch in it. You cannot insert

Value for the money

It is not a very expensive tool but also not cheap. But you can try out its trial version before purchasing it.

Name: Bonnie Lassey
Title: Homeopathic Therapist
Company: Self
Industry: Homeopathic Therapy
Overall
3.8/5
July 26, 2020
Pros

Trello is very easy to use and setup. It is also extremely flexible for many styles of project management. I have used Trello for smaller personal projects and keeping track of side projects for work. Trello allows for easy tracking of progress and workflow management. Trello is ideally suited for small teams who are able to work closely on multiple tasks. Tasks can be assigned and subtasks added easily onto the board. Plugins are well integrated and fun to use. The aging cards effect is definitely one of my favorite features. It allows for more attention to be drawn to cards that haven’t moved through the workflow fast enough.

Cons

As a developer on many projects, Trello became cumbersome for larger projects. It is not easily scalable. I wanted to, but the costs and features seemed to limit the scope of what we could do with various agile teams on numerous projects. I think it would have worked, but our contractors were looking for something more along the lines of JIRA for software development project management. We never got to try out multiple features or plugins with Trello as a whole. I did get to use it to manage my tasks related to JIRA issues, which was okay, but I eventually opted for tasks in JIRA. In short, it is hard to clearly define sprints and tasks for those sprints without having to repeatedly create new labels or new boards to separate sprints.

Value for the money

It is great for small teams that aren't strictly held to a standard for regular sprint cycles. If you want a quick experience for a hobby or small project it is ideal. If you're looking to manage a large scale development project, Trello is not easily scalable and can quickly become a waste of money.

Growth Marketing Pro's Review

by Growth Marketing Pro

It seems we haven’t reviewed this software tool yet...