Canva Review

4.9/5 22 reviews
Price: Starting at $0.00/month

All of our reviews are vetted and we enforce guidelines to ensure accuracy.

Average Ratings | 22 reviews

Overall
4.9/5
Ease of Use
4.9/5
Customer Support
4.8/5
Features
4.8/5
Value for Money
5/5

Product Details

Simplest image editor
Tons of free templates
Image database
Collaboration
Drag and drop
Layout management
Text editor
Price starting at $0/mo; Premium starting at $9.95/mo

Canva Competitors

About Canva

Canva enables small and medium size businesses to create customizable graphs, prints and presentation slides with professional layouts, templates, frames, voice icons and more. It's a favorite tool for marketers who need to create pixel-perfect images for ads or landing pages FAST. Canva has a media library, text and image editor, and a whole suite of tools that help you to make fun, professional images without the help of graphic designers. Compete with the big guys with Canva!

Relevant Posts

Hailey & Mark Recommended

Canva Reviews

Name: Himanshu Goel
Title: Ad Operations Specialist
Company: Addtitans Digital Pvt Ltd
Industry: Marketing
Overall
5/5
January 30, 2020
Pros

Canva is quite an awesome software which lets you create banners, social media posts, infographics and so much more at free of cost. It is a boon for non-technical persons who don't have to rely on graphic designers to create certain images for them. If you are a mid-size company then purchasing this software is really worth it. You can also include some animations also into it.

Cons

Even if you have its premium version, you have to pay for certain images.

Value for the money

It is a complete value for money. You can work on it for free and later upgrade it.

Name: Ruby Goyal
Title: Technical Lead
Company: Serverguy
Industry: It
Overall
4.8/5
January 29, 2020
Pros

I have been using Canva for a long time now. The experience has been amazing. I use it to make banners for my blogs, create e-books, official presentations, featured images, info-graphics, etc. Major advantages of Canva are:- 1. It is ease to use. 2. Drag and Drop Features. 3. They have recently introduced features of Stickers. 4. You can choose from wide variety of templates. 5. You can upload photos or choose from given options. 6. A wide range of elements. 7. Amzing scale to get everything in sync.

Cons

I don't like how you have to pay for many images and elements in Canva. Even if you are a Pro user you have to pay for some images/elements.

Value for the money

It is free to use. Its premium version is also not very expensive.

Name: Krishna Apel
Title: Media Tech
Company: Echo Marketing And Advertising
Industry: Marketing Consulting
Overall
5/5
January 09, 2020
Pros

Canva is ideal for creating and publishing graphic designs on the go. It allows me to easily publish designs, advertisements, or custom posts on social media due to its templates’ ability to be easily scaled to size. The UI design is very beautiful as well as easy to understand and use. Even with paid features, Canva is pretty cheap especially compared to other design softwares. Canva is perfect for everything from social media posts to YouTube thumbnails or in-video designs to blog posts to graphic advertisements.

Cons

especially with the free version, your designs and other companies’ designs may begin to look somewhat repetitive as most people use the same templates that are free. One potential fix is to pay for some additional features.

Value for the money

Free version is excellent. Paid features are like icing on the cake and allow you to differentiate your brand. 10/10 value.

Name: Julian Jowalsky
Title: Consultant
Company: Jowalsky Business Management
Industry: Consulting
Overall
4.8/5
January 08, 2020
Pros

Canva is easy to learn and use. Many templates are offered free, and customizing them is as simple as ABC. Predestined templates include options for logos, book covers, flyers, business cards, etc. images are easy to edit and resize even within precreated templates. Canva also offers free storage up to 1 GB which is a huge plus. Customer support is very responsive and helpful.

Cons

Probably one of the only complaints I have is Canva is online only and pretty much desktop/laptop only. They have a mobile app, but it’s very buggy and not easy to use unlike the PC/Mac accessible browser version.

Value for the money

I can’t complain with a free price tag even if some features are paid only.

Name: Chip Wiggins
Title: Manager
Company: Self
Industry: Marketing
Overall
4.8/5
January 08, 2020
Pros

Canva is ideal for simple graphic design items such as social media posts or for presentations. It’s very easy to use meaning you can design almost anything without the help of an expensive professional designer. Additionally, the free version is good enough for most tasks although it lacks some features. Some paid features are also pay to unlock so that’s nice if you want one feature but don’t want to continue paying a subscription. The presentations feature is nice and provides some advantages over PowerPoint although probably not better than PowerPoint if you know how to use it well.

Cons

Not software for an expert as it is somewhat limited in its more complex features compared to Photoshop. Video editing capability is missing and would be a nice addition.

Value for the money

100% worth it for simple design usage.

Name: Jordann Jackson
Title: Consultant
Company: Self
Industry: Marketing
Overall
5/5
January 07, 2020
Pros

The free version is fantastic. Canva is both easy to use and provides tons of different templates, pictures, and graphics for people who aren’t super gifted with graphic design. I love creating logos on Canva because it is easy to create one generic logo and then have it automatically sized for social media posts or for your own website. The sizing for social media is also optimized to fit perfectly with the different social media platforms such as Facebook or Instagram.

Cons

The Canva website can be laggy. Usually that’ll mean that it may take several minutes to upload images or download stuff. Additionally, the free version only allows you to have one folder to organize designs which can be a bit difficult.

Value for the money

The free version is great, but the paid version offers some even better features at a relatively low cost.

Name: Sam Churos
Title: Administrator
Company: S. Churos Music
Industry: Education
Overall
5/5
January 03, 2020
Pros

Pros Before canva, I was really struggling with other business design websites as I could never seem to get the dimensions and quality right I needed for print. Now with Canva I can easily design my business cards and quickly order them exactly to my needed specifications. I’ve also found it easy to export stuff from canva to send to other companies to print if needed. Alternatively, it can be exported to social media or a business website for advertisement purposes.

Cons

I honestly can not recommend canva enough. Absolutely 0 problems with using it so far!

Value for the money

I sometimes pay for some extra features for print and such, but it is absolutely worth it!

Name: Jesse White
Title: Consultant
Company: Self
Industry: E-commerce
Overall
5/5
January 02, 2020
Pros

Creating graphic advertisements has never been easier. Canva combines both a variety of tools and an easy to use interface to enable anyone to become an expert in graphic design. It’s very accessible and convenient even if you’re designing something on your smartphone on the go. What’s even better is you don’t have to be a super techy person to use it!

Cons

There are no cons for me, but I could see how some would say that having paid features are a con.

Value for the money

I will never have any complaints with a product that is excellent and free! I definitely would still use Canva even if I had to pay a fair amount for it.

Name: Keon Mundo
Title: Consultant
Company: Self
Industry: Marketing
Overall
5/5
December 27, 2019
Pros

Canva is an effective yet easy-to-use design software. There are many different templates and format options available which can be easily customized. Canva is perfect for designing advertisements for Facebook posts or other social media posts. Canva is also very simple to use, so anyone should be able to use it. It’s especially convenient to be able to have a template that I can simply drop in my own photos to.

Cons

Some features are paid only. However, the free features are plentiful.

Value for the money

Free features are fantastic, but even some paid features could be useful.

Name: Josh R
Title: Teacher
Company: Self
Industry: Education
Overall
5/5
December 05, 2019
Pros

Canva is uber easy to use for people with little graphic design experience like myself. I had struggled with advertisements and even designing invitations in the past especially since I am unable to hire a professional, but Canva has turned that around. There are a ton of free options for all sorts of graphic design needs. I love the ease of use and guidelines for alignment as well as the many customizations and templates. I also recently discovered you can use Canva for use in PowerPoint presentations which has helped me a ton recently.

Cons

Some features are locked unless you pay extra, but I still find free features to be plentiful.

Value for the money

Free is absolutely worth it. Paid features would probably be worth it if you find that you need them, but I usually don't. Totally recommend Canva for anyone who wants good design at little to no cost.

Name: Carolyn Tatum
Title: Executive Director
Company: Mission On The Move / Girl Talk Nc
Industry: Non-profit
Overall
5/5
November 26, 2019
Pros

My grandson (graphic designer) designs all of our flyers but has been training me on Canva the past month. Surprisingly, I have found it very user-friendly, love the "plug and play" templates and ease of converting the designs to PNG files for distribution on social media or creating prints for handout flyers. There are A LOT of amazing templates. Although I am still playing around with it, I am looking forward to exploring the other templates (ex: business cards for our board members, presentations for GED classes, and slide decks for monthly women's empowerment workshops).

Cons

I have no complaints.

Value for the money

Yes, we are using the free version but occasionally opt to pay $1.99 for the high resolution downloads. And it totally worth the money.

Name: Morathi Howie
Title: Health Coach
Company: Vegan Love Culture
Industry: Health And Wellness
Overall
5/5
November 13, 2019
Pros

It is embarrassing to have just now learned about Canva within the past month. Although I am still playing around with all of the different templates, I have created some pretty impressive flyers for my business and events. My standard is high. And the qualify of the output is in alignment. Some of the features I like are: -Drag and drop photos -Preloaded photos and backgrounds -Duplicate current form (allows for slight revisions without redoing the same design) -Turn designs into presentations (this has been pretty cool, because I sometimes use this for my events)

Cons

I can't really complain, because I am still using the free version which suits my current needs. Since I am not a graphic designer, it is hard to say if anything is missing at this point. I am sure that more features are available on the paid version which will likely fall outside of my skillset/scope of expertise.

Value for the money

Yep, no complaints with free!

Name: Michelle Rutherford
Title: Consultant
Company: Rutherford Consulting
Industry: Consulting
Overall
5/5
November 12, 2019
Pros

Since discovering Canva, I have saved a great of money on all of my flyers, social media banners, sponsorship packages, website/landing page graphics and more. It has easily become the "go to" for my business' design needs. As of lately, I have been using it to design my presentations (instead of PowerPoint).

Cons

When you download designs from Canva, you are not given the option of naming it. They automatically save to my download files (with the 1000 other documents). Given the other benefits, this is a small trade-off. Besides, this could be a matter of a user error.

Value for the money

Absolutely! For the most part, the free version fits my needs. On rare occasions (if I need my docs in HD), it may cost $1-2 which is a drop in the bucket.

Name: Naseerullah Jan
Title: Student
Company: College
Industry: Please Enter A Valid Industry
Overall
4.5/5
November 11, 2019
Pros

canva is very best tool available online as well as in the play store.Canva provide fast solutions for creating best banners,cvs,photo editing,profile picture making etc. I have used canva and really it was very beneficiall for me. It saved my time for creating fast cv . So everybody can use it for free ,just go to play store and download the app.

Cons

It take sometime in processing ,it is a little bit slow. Canva is an online tool because of this reason i a little not satisfied but it is very helpful tool for them who have not any skills in editing.

Value for the money

free and good

Name: Celi
Title: Marketing
Company: Growth Marketing Partners
Industry: Marketing
Overall
4.8/5
November 10, 2019
Pros

Have enjoyed using Canva for their templates. They are easy to use. They offer a free version and a paid version for a small fee. Really good for business with limited resources or when you need to create something quick.

Cons

Similar to other reviews, limited content on the free version so may be better off to upgrade but still a good price.

Value for the money

Good!

Name: Evan C
Title: Manager
Company: Self
Industry: Real Estate
Overall
4.8/5
October 29, 2019
Pros

Canva is extremely convenient for creating logos, designs, or advertisements. I have been using Canva for a few years now, and I have found it to be extremely convenient when I don't have time to create something with Photoshop. As a free alternative (with some additional paid options), Canva is super helpful for businesses who do not have the resources to hire a professional to design every single advertisement.

Cons

The free features are somewhat limited. The additional paid features may not be worth the cost to some, but may be needed to produce the kind of marketing material that is desired.

Value for the money

Overall, Canva is extremely convenient and worth the cost even if some extra features have to be paid for.

Name: Justin Jaeger
Title: Project Manager
Company: Assemble
Industry: Marketing And Technology
Overall
4.8/5
October 22, 2019
Pros

Canva makes life easy. If you had any type of editing software, you can probably make most of this stuff fairly quickly on your own. However, it has so many different design ideas, so you don't have to spend time thinking how to organize a graphic. I use this mostly for Pinterest graphics, which result in most of my blog traffic. It's super quick to create multiple versions of graphics for the same blog post. Editing is super easy, whether images and text. You can make it look how you want.

Cons

The main bummer is the lack of free content it offers. Very few graphics are available without paying. Also, once you start using some of the templates, you'll notice everyone else on the internet using the exact same template. So do your best to make each graphic your own by changing the colors and font at least.

Value for the money

Considering you can do so much with Canva for free, it's a no brainer. It's all web-based, super user-friendly, and has so much design inspiration that will save you time.

Name: Matan
Title: Growth Analyst
Company: Superquery
Industry: Big Data
Overall
4.5/5
October 21, 2019
Pros

Great templates, instructions, content, etc.

Cons

A lot of the useful images / designs you have to pay for. I understand they have to make money, but wish there were more useful images in the free version

Value for the money

Still, a great design tool for non-designers.

Name: John Chang
Title: Chief Instigator
Company: Esl Masterminds
Industry: Education / Coaching
Overall
4.3/5
October 20, 2019
Pros

Straightforward, easy-to-use, great templates for most social media / content marketing needs

Cons

Awkward to copy from one design to another, not much support unless subscribed to service

Value for the money

FREE to use for most features, so can't beat that!

Name: Melissa H
Title: Marketer
Company: Self
Industry: Real Estate/education
Overall
5/5
October 20, 2019
Pros

Let's be real. If you work at a startup and/or don't have a designer, you're going to want to create your own ads and flyers on the fly. Canva is your best bet as it comes with thousands of professional templates. They've literally thought of everything. Plus you can customize size and insert your logo.

Cons

I guess if you and your competitor were to use the same template, it wouldn't look so good. But the chances of that happening are very slim.

Value for the money

The free version had everything I needed at the two companies I worked for. Employees could share a login and build off of other's designs.

Name: Renea Hanks
Title: Owner
Company: Solid Solutions Today
Industry: Website Design
Overall
5/5
October 20, 2019
Pros

This is the best design software platform I have used! I absolutely love the resizing tool that automatically resizes any work I create. Such time saver! The team is super friendly! There are many templates to choose from. There is a huge database of images to use, a lot of them free. Canva has a free version as well. This can at least get beginners in to create.

Cons

I have been a long time user of Canva. I have been there before they started charging for certain fonts. That is the only downside I see, however, that is very small in comparison to the way they treat me as a customer and the value for all of the things that are included with Canva Pro.

Value for the money

Excellent value for the money!

Name: Rachel Branan
Title: I Love Canva!
Company: Rb 80
Industry: Ibo
Overall
5/5
October 20, 2019
Pros

This app is awesome for posts on every social media account! You can access more photos with the paid version but the free version is great as well!

Cons

I can't think of any!

Value for the money

Great value if you buy the paid version for about $5 a month

Growth Marketing Pro's Review

by Growth Marketing Pro

It seems we haven’t reviewed this software tool yet...